Adult · Book Reviews · Books · Sci-Fi

Book Review: Shada by Gareth Roberts


My Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

When The Doctor’s old friend, Professor Chronotis, retires to Cambridge University he brings some souvenirs with him that he should have left behind. One of them, “The Worshipful and Ancient Law of Gallifrey,” is far too dangerous to be left unguarded. Even worse, it’s fallen into the hands of the sinister Skagra. 

The Doctor, Romana, and K-9 must figure out what Skagra’s up to and get the book back before something terrible falls upon the universe. 

Shada is based upon some of Douglas Adams’ original scripts for Doctor Who that never made it to air. Like the previous Doctor Who novel I read, this one is based off the 4th Doctor.

The story invoked some of the quirkiness of Tom Baker’s character, which is always entertaining. It was nice having Romana and K-9 present, also, even if it’s just for nostalgia purposes. The rest of the characters didn’t do enough for me though. Even the villain was kind of lackluster.

Some of the “details” of the backstory were a little shoddy. I understand that there’s a lot to explain as far as the history of Doctor Who goes, but I still felt like there could have been less half-assed explanations.

Aside from those things, the story was enjoyable. It was’t as good as City of Death, but it wasn’t terrible either. The novels are a fun way to kill time while I wait for season 11 to come out.


Don’t forget to follow me on social media – Bloglovin Twitter Goodreads


2 thoughts on “Book Review: Shada by Gareth Roberts

  1. You might want to look into the M.Y.T.H. Inc. series by Robert Asprin. Pretty sure they’re out of print, but they are short and very funny. The basic plot follows Skeve, a magicians apprentice that accidentally kills his tutor. As he tries to learn on his own he encounters “demons”, a term for anyone that travels between dimensions and nothing sinister at all. There are many different demons, and all have different qualities. Even a Fairy Godfather (modeled after Marlon Brando I’m sure) named Bruce. There are at least 11 books in the series. I have some of them in the cabinet under the family altar, but we’ve lost a few. Amazon only has a 4 in e-book, and they’re not even in order. They have 1, 7, 9 and 11. How the hell are you supposed to read the series that way?? Anyway – they are quite funny and a very easy read.


    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s