Book Reviews · Books · Fiction · Young Adult

Book Review: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

haunted-house

As part of the Halloween read-a-thon I read Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. That’s two books, so far. It’s getting pretty close to Halloween, but I’m going to try to squeeze another book in just for fun.

9460487

My rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The death of Jacob’s grandfather turns his life completely upside down. Left with nothing but outrageous stories and strange photographs, Jacob decides to travel to the small island in Wales where his grandfather spent his childhood. Upon discovering the abandoned orphanage, he realizes that there may have been more to his grandfather’s stories and the children who lived there after all. 

This book was a pretty quick read. Being a YA book, I was expecting there to be more substance and character development, but it didn’t quite hit the mark. Judging by the blurb on the back and the creepy photographs on the inside, I expected something a little more eerie and different than what was actually delivered.

The story itself has potential, but it feels like there’s too much going on at one time. The author tries to tie together differences in time, the “peculiar” children, World War II, and monsters all together, which didn’t really work. Some of it just felt out of place with the other elements in the story. Given that the orphanage is based around the unique children that live there, I would have liked to see more of them. The book felt like it barely brushed the tip of the iceberg there.

I didn’t hate this book, but I wasn’t super impressed either. I don’t think I’ll be picking up the sequel.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

  1. I felt the same way! I thought it was interesting, but I wish there was more. I think it might just have a younger target audience, but it was still a little lacking. I haven’t read the rest of the series either

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

