Uncategorized

Dance Your Heart Out

Today is National Dance Day! Hooray! I order you all to go put on your dancing shoes and bust a move. Right now. Move!

In all seriousness, dance is something that is actually very important to me. I’ve always loved to dance and did so frequently growing up, whether at social events or just in the privacy of my own bedroom. I hate to break it to you, but if you didn’t grow up in the 90s, dancing your ass off to the Spice Girls, you never really lived.

Three years ago I was fortunate enough to discover another kind of dance and it has since changed my life for the better: Pole dancing. (Yes, an often taboo topic among those who don’t really understand or appreciate it. But hey, if you’ve ever met me you will know that I am no stranger to talking about and/or doing taboo things). Pole dancing has been an amazing experience for me. It has helped to make me stronger, both physically and mentally. It has helped me learn to appreciate my body more for what I can do with it, rather than what it looks like, and it serves as the perfect outlet for stress. My body image and anxiety improve significantly when I’m focusing on dance. On top of that it’s just plain fun. I love working on choreography and coming up with new concepts for the shows we put on. Dancing is a great way to channel my creativity and use it to make art that I can share with others.

It can have its downsides, of course. It has taken a lot of time and effort to reach the skill level I’m at now and I still have a long way to go. People sometimes judge me for it because they automatically assume that because I pole dance I’m also a stripper. (Not that I have any problem with strippers.) It can definitely be dangerous if not done correctly and even on the best of days it leaves my body sore and bruised. But you know what? I wouldn’t have it any other way.

4 thoughts on “Dance Your Heart Out

  1. I used to take pole dancing classes with some friends. It was tons of fun, and I loved it. People who judge it don’t get what it’s about. For me, it had nothing to do with men. Or women. Only me. It was freeing and fun and I love to dance. I never danced for anyone, not even my husband. It was my thing. I miss that. Your post made me smile. Thank you for that. You look beautiful! (And I love the shoes! So fun!)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. “I hate to break it to you, but if you didn’t grow up in the 90s, dancing your ass off to the Spice Girls, you never really live.”

    I choreographed an entire dance to Wannabe. It was my life. Great blog! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have been doing pole dancing classes for 6 or 7 years after reading your post I’m glad to see it has had the same positive results – apart from the bruises, I actually have a massive bruise on my hip right now but I see them as a badge to show off what a bad ass I am. Keep it up you look amazing in your shots

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

