Adult · Book Reviews · Books · Fantasy · Fiction · Young Adult

Vacation Reads Update

Happy Tuesday!…Wait, it’s only Tuesday? Ugh. Jet lag is kicking my ass this week. Aren’t you supposed to feel rested after you go on a vacation? :\

Back before I left I did a post on the books that I took on vacation with me. Not surprisingly, given the couple of long traveling days, layovers, and hours spent in the car, I was able to make a nice little dent in my TBR list.

11235712My rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I remember when this book came out, back in 2012. I was still working at the library and everyone was raving about this book. I’m pretty sure we didn’t even have any copies on the shelves for months, because it had a reserve list a mile long. At the time I read the blurb on the back and thought “Meh.” Young adult Cinderella meets cyborgs. No thanks!

As I have since gotten over my prejudice against YA novels, I decided to finally give this book a chance and see what all the hype was about. I breezed through most of it while in transit to Canada. It was an easy, but entertaining read. The story wasn’t overly complicated, but had enough surprise twists to keep you guessing. I enjoyed it and plan on checking out the second one to see what happens.

~~~

1215032

After finishing Cinder I jumped into The Wise Man’s Fear, which is the second book in the Kingkiller Chronicle series. I haven’t finished it yet,  but I can tell you that it is definitely living up to my expectations. I’ve had a hard time putting this one down the last few days. I really hope Patrick Rothfuss puts the third book out sometime soon. I don’t know how I’ll be able to wait for it!

I also knocked out a few more chapters of Talking As Fast As I Can. It’s been a slower read for me, but fun nonetheless.

7 thoughts on “Vacation Reads Update

      1. Well……that’s the question! Perhaps both are finished and the books are just lost in their bushy beards!😂

        Rothfuss has been quiet so I’d hope his will be released soon, well, early to mid next year and Martin recently said he’s months and months away from even finishing, he’s doing other stuff, etc so…..probably Rothfuss. Being honest, I’ll read them both and I’m looking forward to both but having to wait for so long and finding so many other great series my anticipation for both has dwindled.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. That happens to me, also. If it takes too long for the next book to come out I start to forget a lot of the details. Sometimes I’ll go back and read them again if that is the case.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

