Book Reviews · Books · Fantasy · Sci-Fi

Unnatural Creatures by Neil Gaiman

img_8236My Rating: 3 out of 5 stars 

Unnatural Creatures is a fun collection of short stories about the creatures that exist in the dark corners of our imaginations. Each story is told by a different author, ranging in styles from classic fantasy/sci-fi to contemporary fiction.

I am typically not a big fan of short stories, given that they lack the same amount of detail you would find in a regular novel. This was a quick, easy read for me. Despite their length, I enjoyed most of the stories. I wasn’t sure how the book would flow, given the different number of writing styles, but it all melded together nicely. Some of the stories were fun and whimsical, while others were just plain eerie. (It reminded me of Doctor Who in that sense.)

This is a good one for fans of light sci-fi/fantasy.

3 thoughts on “Unnatural Creatures by Neil Gaiman

  1. I recently bought American Gods, but now I’m thinking I should give this collection a try first to get a feel for Gaiman’s writing. He does seem to receive good reception for his works. (As far as I could tell when I saw Coraline, they were right.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

