Books

To Read or Not to Read?

Usually, every couple of months I come across a book that I’m excited to check out, only to discover that it’s a complete snooze fest. I’ve been pretty lucky this year, however, in terms of my reading choices.

When I was in my teens/early twenties I would force myself to finish books that I didn’t particularly enjoy. Part of that was cause by guilt, the other part caused by FOMO (fear of missing out) syndrome. (What if it gets better in the second half? What if the ending is amazing?…) As I’ve gotten older I’ve stopped worrying about it so much. If I get 1/3 of the way through a book and I’m just not feeling it, I’m going to call it quits. On occasion I will go back and attempt to try again, but usually I don’t bother.

Life is too short to read boring books.

~~~

What do you guys do when you come across books that are boring? 

One thought on “To Read or Not to Read?

Leave a Reply

