Adult · Books · Fiction · Young Adult

Top Ten Tues: Things on My Reading Wishlist

Every Tuesday at The Broke and the Bookish there is a new book-related topic that is up for discussion. This week’s topic is “Ten Things  On Your Reading Wishlist.” I am usually terrible at partaking in these because I can never think of ten things to list, but today feels like a good day to try again.

toptentuesday

  1. More characters with mental health issues – As someone who struggles with their own issues, I can never understand why we don’t see more of this in books. When we do see characters with mental health problems it is usually the entire focus of the story. Why don’t we just have main characters who are depressed/anxious without it being the whole plot? Plenty of us have mental health issues and live normal lives, go on adventures, find romance, etc.
  2. More female empowerment – I know there are quite a few strong, badass female characters out there now, which is fantastic. I do think we need to see more female characters empowering each other though. More building up and less tearing down.
  3. More diversity – This one is pretty self-explanatory. We need characters with different cultures, backgrounds, beliefs, etc.
  4. Less love triangles – I feel like the YA genre has done the love triangle to death. It gets old after a while.
  5. More stand alone fantasy/sci-fi – I love getting into a good series, but sometimes I just don’t have time to make such a big commitment.
  6. More breaking of stereotypes – We need to see more females in stereotypical male roles and vice versa.
  7. More nerdy books – Just because 🙂
  8. Better quality sex – Most of the time sex scenes are disappointing in non-romance/erotica books. Come on authors, spice it up a little!
  9. More witty characters – I love light, witty banter (Think Gilmore Girls). Give me more of that, please.
  10. More time travel – I’ve always been a big fan of time travel and seeing the contrast between modern characters and those from different times/places.
3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tues: Things on My Reading Wishlist

Leave a Reply

