Books · Fantasy · Fiction · Young Adult

Currently Reading (and Thoughts on Blogging)

Currently reading:

17927395

When I reviewed A Court of Thorns and Roses I said I wasn’t sure if I wanted to read the sequel, but with all the hype over the third book being released, I finally caved. Thus far I am enjoying it.

~~~

During my commute to work this morning I was thinking about my blog an what I am getting out of blogging. Truth be told, I know that there are probably only a handful of people who are reading this and that nothing I talk about is earth-shattering. The reviews I write are no better than what you will find on Goodreads or Amazon. The other book-themed topics I bring up have most likely already been discussed to death within the blogosphere a hundred times over. Despite all that, I keep plugging away anyway, not really caring whether or not my posts are up to par with everyone else’s. When I made my first post back in January I said that I was doing this to get myself back in the habit or writing, to get back on track with the whole attempting to write a book thing. I don’t get to blog as often as I’d like to, mainly because of the huge chunk of my day that is taken up by work. (Adulting. Ugh.) Sometimes it takes way longer than expected to finish a book and sometimes I just don’t know what to say. Having this blog has still been helpful the last few months though, even if I am not quite as far along as I hoped I would be.

My personal life has changed a great deal this past year. For a while, I had a lot of friends and a really active social life. Sadly, due to various circumstances, things have shifted again and I no longer feel like the social butterfly that I temporarily was. That’s not to say that I am alone by any means. I have my wonderful boyfriend and a small handful of friends that I hang out with periodically. Still, it feels like there is a void. I’ve thought about trying to find some new social groups or a book club to join, but being as naturally introverted as I am, I have yet to muster up the courage. It’s always been hard for me to make friends. Right now, I am especially hesitant given that I’ve recently lost several people whom I thought I was close to, which really hurt. *sigh*

This blog has helped me a little in coping with that situation. It, by no means, replaces the social stimulation that I feel I’ve been lacking, but it’s nice to be able to at least chat with other people about books and similar interests from time to time.

5 thoughts on “Currently Reading (and Thoughts on Blogging)

  1. So strange, I stumbled across this post in the books tag, and swear I could have written this word for word about my own life at the moment! Right down to contemplating joining some kind of club 🙈 hope you keep blogging 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. There’s not a damn thing wrong with introverts, we’re great!😀

    It’s irrelevant if the reviews you write aren’t any better than those on Goodreads and Amazon, it’s your blog, you review how you want, we all do it differently but saying that, yeah, I’ll admit there’s some eloquent doctorate style reviews on both Goodreads and Amazon but have you seen some of the others!😂

    Trust me you’re not the only blogger who thinks that the other posts/discussion they bring up have been done to death, unfortunately it’s true for all of us, I guess if we wanted originality we needed to have a book blog when it first became popular. But when you bring topics up it’s because it’s something you want to talk about, for every blogger that’s good enough regardless of how many times its been broached before and we all put our own spin on a topic anyway, add our own personality ergo, it’s original and yes, I’m aware that’s a technicality but they are wonderful things!😂

    You definitely have the right frame of mind though about not bothering if your posts are upto par with other bloggers or not, it’s not a competition and we are all different as bloggers.😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

