Adult · Book Reviews · Books · Fantasy

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

9361589

My Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I have a confession to make: I didn’t actually finish this book. (Actually, let me rephrase that: I didn’t finish this book the second time around.) I read The Night Circus back when it came out in 2011 and everyone was raving about it. At the time I enjoyed the book. The concept was familiar, but with a unique twist. I liked the idea of a grown-up circus. No animals. Actual magic, rather than slight of hand and mirror tricks. Everything in black and white. The characters and the plot were engrossing. The whole package was there. By the end of the book, however, the package split open and some of the contents spilled out.

I disliked the ending of The Night Circus back then. I remember being so disappointed by the fate of Celia, Marco, and the rest of the circus performers that I actually chucked the book across the room.

Typically, I do not re-read books that I disliked the first time. The only reason I chose to try this one again was because it was chosen for my book club. I gave it a chance, I really did. Unfortunately, I just couldn’t get into it. Having read quite a few epic fantasy books since first reading The Night Circus, I found myself making too many comparisons and finding too many fatal flaws with the details. The magic “system” in the story really bothered me, mainly because it seemed like there was no system at all. There were no rules or limitations, or, if there were, nobody really understood them. I also didn’t like the fact that the author kept introducing new characters, all of who seemed to be quite interesting, and then let their stories fizzled out.

The more I attempted to read the book the less I was into it, so I eventually just gave up.

One thought on “The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

  1. I was the same. The idea was interesting, and I liked that it featured real magic, but it was the style that didn’t sit well with me. It was worth a try, but like you, not for me!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

