Books · Favorites · Fiction

Favorite Fictional Romances

I finally got to see Beauty and the Beast this weekend! It was every bit as good as I hoped it would be.

There is a scene in the movie where Belle and the Beast are discussing Shakespeare. Belle expressed her love of Romeo and Juliet and the Beast rolls his eyes at her for liking such a predictably sappy, heartbreaking story. It made me chuckle. Later on, this scene got me thinking about my own tastes books and movies. While I hardly ever read things from the romance section at the bookstore, I will admit that I am a sucker for a good love story.

I have done a good deal of thinking about love and relationships this past year. Going through a divorce has caused me to reflect on my previous relationships and what I want in the future. I definitely don’t have it all figured out yet (does anyone?), but I do feel like I have a greater understanding of what I want/need from a partner and what my own role in a relationship should be.

For now, while I am still learning, I guess I can always look to my favorite fictional couples for inspiration. As silly as it may sound, I have learned more about love from some of my favorite stories than I have anywhere else.

These are a few fictional couples that I have fallen in love with over the years:

  1. Belle and the Beast 

636099969661206631-853952420_beauty-and-the-beast

2. Romeo and Juliet

romeo-and-juliet

3. Claire and Jamie Fraser

OUT_116-20140827-ND_0372.jpg

4. Luke and Lorelai 

rehost2f20162f112f162fea153fb3-2bef-4613-8421-852f37f46791

One thought on “Favorite Fictional Romances

Leave a Reply

