Books · Favorites · Uncategorized

Books That Made Me Ugly Cry

I’ll never forget the first time it happened. I was in 5th grade, sitting at my desk in the back of the classroom during recess, reading a book. At the corner of our row were two spinning metal racks that held an assortment of age appropriate paperbacks. Earlier in the week I had grabbed a random book off the rack that looked like a nice story about a boy and his dogs. It was called Where the Red Fern Grows. Little did I know what I was in for.

I won’t spoil the book for anyone who hasn’t read it yet, but let me just tell you that it’s a tear-jerker. I remember sitting there with the book and getting hit over the head with raw emotion. Sadness welled up from the pit of my stomach, settling heavily into my chest, and then I started to cry. A few of the kids looked over and sneered at me, sniffing and sobbing away the last few minutes of recess. I managed to finish the book, but I struggled to figure out how I felt about it. I hated it for making me cry, but at the same time I loved it.

There have been plenty of books that have made me cry over the years, but there are a handful that come to mind when I think of books that made me “ugly cry.” These are a few of them:

Do you remember the first book that made you cry? Did you love it or hate it? 

Leave a Reply

