Books · Uncategorized

Reading Goals

cropped-shelves.jpg

I’ve been seeing a lot of posts about 2017 Reading Challenges on other blogs lately, which has prompted me to think about my own reading goals. My goal this year is a simple one: read more. A few weeks ago I mentioned  that the past year had been a rocky one for me, and that, sadly, I didn’t get to read as much as I normally would. I set a small goal for myself on Goodreads for 2017. It’s nothing too ambitious, not compared to some of the goals others are setting, but it’s something that seems attainable and will, hopefully, help get me back on track.

I’m always hesitant to do reading challenges because I worry that it will start to feel more like something I have to do, rather than something I want to do. How do you guys feel about reading challenges? Are they enjoyable or does finishing them feel like more of an obligation?

One thought on “Reading Goals

  1. I personally like those type of challenges that don’t have deadlines stricter than just a year resolution. Usually there are lots of chanllenges where you can choose books that fit the description (like Nobel prize book, NYT bestseller, YA, etc.) and read throughout the year.
    And it doesn’t mean you have to limit yourself to just one specific challenge. Challenges can be easily combined if found the best combination. I’m currently reading my 2017 TBR list and trying to combine with 2017 book challenge run by Vietnamese bookaholics. It should be easy if you’re open to all genres.

    Like

Leave a Reply

