Books · Classics · Fantasy · Favorites · Fiction · Young Adult

Kiersten’s Favorites: Pt 1

As much as I love talking about books with like-minded individuals (aka bibliophiles), I actually find it frustrating to talk about books with most people. Immediately, upon discovering that I love to read, people will inevitably ask the most irritating question possible: “What’s your favorite book?” It seems like such a simple question. If someone asked me my favorite color, season, movie, or basically anything  else, I would have no problem coming up with an answer. But my favorite book? As in just one?  That’s like asking someone to pick a favorite memory. It’s impossible. Typically, I respond by naming a handful of books and/or authors until the person who asked looks at me like I have three heads and starts to back away. *sigh*

Every once in a while I am lucky enough to find people who understand my love of books and appreciate the fact that I read things other than Gone Girl (or whatever title is popular at the time). Fortunately, I know that some of you reading this are bibliophiles like myself, so, that being said…Allow me to tell you about my favorite books! 🙂

  1. The Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling – I fell in love with Harry Potter when I was eleven years old. From the very first page, this series drew me in and captivated me like no other story had ever done previously. People sometimes laugh and say “It’s a kid’s book!,” but it is so much more than that. I have learned more lessons about life, love, friendship, loyalty, family, courage, and empathy from these books than any adult ones I have ever laid hands on. Not only that, but they are so much fun! The world Rowling created is wildly imaginative, with complex, yet relatable, characters. There will be many further posts about Harry Potter to come, so for now, at the risk of being totally cheesy, I will just say that the series is truly magical.
  2. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte – Jane has a pretty rough start in life. She is orphaned at a young age, left in the care of her wicked aunt, and then sent off to a boarding school that makes corporal punishment part of it’s every day routine. Despite all that, she remains strong and willfully independent. She finds a job at Thornfield mansion, working for the handsome and mysterious Mr. Rochester, and once again discovers that not everything in life turns out the way you expect it to. I have always admired Jane’s resolve. She endures hit after hit, but instead of crying and whining about it all the time, she just pick up and moves the fuck on. She isn’t the plain, meek little creature that women were expected to be at the time. She is a feminist and a badass in every sense of the word.
  3. Romeo and Juliet by William Shakespeare – I know this is technically a play and not a book, but it still counts, right? I don’t read a lot of books that are labelled as straight-up romance, even though I am a giant sap. I find that most “romance” books have cheesy characters and are more about the steamy sex scenes than actual relationships. The reason I have always been drawn to Romeo and Juliet, though, is that it invokes all the feelings of first love that you never forget. There is something so beautiful about two young, innocent adults, who are so wrapped up in their love for each other that they are willing to defy their families just to be together. *swoons*
  4. The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman – Nobody (or “Bod”) Owens wanders into the graveyard as a toddler after his entire family is murdered. There he remains, under the care of the graveyard’s ghosts, until he is fully grown. There is something missing from Bod’s life, as he belongs to neither the world of the dead nor the living. You would think this would be a bit depressing for a coming-of-age story, but it isn’t. It is lively and moving. It is a lesson in living, as told by the dead. Oh, Mr. Gaiman, how I love thee.
Leave a Reply

